MUSIC / Others / Studio Album



Beck-Ola, released in 1969, was the second album from the Jeff Beck Group.  Featuring Beck on guitar, Ronnie Wood on bass, Rod Stewart on vocals, Nicky Hopkins on piano and organ, and Tony Newman on drums, the album, along with it’s predecessor Truth, is widely regarded as laying the foundations of Heavy Metal.

The album consists of four original tunes written by the band, two covers of Elvis Presley songs, ‘All Shook Up’ and ‘Jailhouse Rock’, as well as an instrumental by Hopkins.   The album’s title is a pun on the name of the Rock-Ola jukebox company and the artwork depicts a reproduction of the Belgian surrealist artist René Magritte’s The Listening Room.

 It peaked at number fifteen on the Billboard 200 chart and at number thirty-nine on the British album chart.

Others Studio Albums